Some sketches

I’m working on a new project, a story set in a forest. It’s a beautifully simple, poignant, calm story for children. My first task is to decide on the look of the drawings- how I want to depict the forest itself, so I have been trying out a few techniques and looks.

The drawings below are just primary ideas, they all need more development. Some of the scenes will have mist flowing between the trees, so the bottom right one has some in it, although I think it’s a bit on the cartoony side. Which is your favourite of the approaches so far? Feedback is welcome in the comments section.

Sketches for a forest

Sketches for a forest

2 comments
  1. littlegemm@gmail.com said:

    Colour one best and not just for the colour but the style too. And I love the mist, not too cartoony!

    • TommySW said:

      Thanks gemm! I think I agree on the colour one. I’ve been experimenting with mist too- maybe one for the next post…

Leave a Reply

